We are located approximately 150kms east of Melbourne and are one of Victoria’s major regional centres. Our region is made up of four central towns: Churchill, Moe Newborough, Morwell, Traralgon. We have smaller rural townships of Boolarra, Glengarry, Toongabbie, Tyers, Traralgon South, Yallourn North and Yinnar.

We are less than two hours’ drive from Melbourne Airport along the Princes Freeway (M1) and around an hour and a half from central Melbourne. V/Line runs hourly rail services between Melbourne and Traralgon.

We have traditionally been recognised as the centre of Victoria’s electricity industry, which is derived from one of the largest brown coal reserves in the world. We are also at the centre of a large forestry industry which services Australian Paper’s pulp and paper mill (the largest in Australia) and other sawmills.

Other industries in the area include food processing (Lion – Morwell), engineering, post-secondary education with the new Federation University Australia and the service sector. Being the largest population centre in the Gippsland region, Latrobe City acts as the regional headquarters for Government agencies and private operators including banks and insurance companies.

Home to 75,211 people, Latrobe supports 32,389 jobs and has an annual economic output of $11.419 billion
Output: $11.4 B

33.84% of $33.7 B for Gippsland Region

Employment: 32,389 Jobs
30.65% of 105,677 for Gippsland Region

Join Our Mailing ListUpdates straight to your inbox!